Sunday, July 26, 2009

Christmas Dilemma

Most of my mother's side of the family lives in Texas. I haven't seen them for nearly two years. A lot can happen in two years! For example: A wedding we (we being my mom, my step-dad, and I) couldn't go to, a cousin getting her driver's license, making the transition from middle school to high school, making the transition from elementary school to middle school, cousin getting her wisdom teeth taken out. With the distance, comes missing holiday gatherings. We never spend Thanksgiving, Christmas, or New Year's together. While the rest of the family is living it up in Texas, we're celebrating quietly here in New Jersey.
We've been getting tired of this, and decided a visit is in order. My mom decided that we were to go to Texas on the 26th of December, but as a surprise. The plan was, when we arrived at the airport we would call them and be like "hey, Merry Christmas. By the way..." A surprise, you know? When my cousin, Karen, came to New York for a R.O.T.C meet, we went to go meet up with her. While together, I told her about the surprise visit to Texas. She was, of course thrilled. (We're the two girls in the family. -___-)
Today, my mom got a call from my aunt, saying "Hey! Guess what?" They were planning on coming to New Jersey for a visit.... for Christmas. She then proceeded to say that she wasn't sure if she'd have that day off of work, and if she didn't she'd just send my little cousin, Brian, to visit since he'd been nagging her "When are we going to Jersey, ma?!" This puts us in a pickle.

Six Flags.

Oh hey, Blog of mine. It's been too long. Recently, I went to Six Flags Great Adventure, with an old friend. Her name is Maria, and I haven't spoken to her since the 7th grade. Why did I invite her, you ask? Well, i'm the type of person who LOVES roller-coasters, but i'm too chicken shit to go on them without some persuasion.
I promptly picked her up at 9:00 a.m. at her house, then we hit the road. I'd forgotten how peaceful highways are, to me. Rolling down your windows, letting the air hit your face, and watching the green trees go by is a really good feeling.
Before even arriving at Six Flags, you could see Kingda Ka, from miles away.
This terrifying monster made my stomach clench, because I knew my friend wanted to go on it. I kept trying to find an excuse to not go on it, without seeming like a baby. When we arrived at the entrance, the sign said "Kingda is Closed today." HECK YES!
The first ride we went on was Batman. The line wait wasn't too long, but by the time I was strapped in, I was scared. As soon as the ride took off, I was pumped!
After Batman was over, I got such a thrill, that I decided to go on Nitro. Now, Nitro, is my favorite ride of all time, but it's a monster. It takes super long to get to the top.
Seriously, I was in the middle of a conversation with the stranger next to me, and it went down. The first drop always makes you feel like you're dying, but after that... it's just one huge party. I kept screaming "HELL YEAH! YEAH! YEAH BITCH!" I'm a college frat boy.
After Nitro, my friend wanted to go on the Bizarro. The new ride at our Six Flags. I was so scared, since I've never been on it, that I wanted to stall. Since it was 80 degrees out, I persuaded her to go on the water ride.
After the water ride, I had no choice but to go on the Bizarro since they were super close. It was a great freakin' ride. Probably my favorite of forever.
Then we ended the day on Superman. The easiest roller coaster ever.

Monday, July 13, 2009

Languages: A History

I don't know how to get into this subject, so pretend there's a clever anecdote here.
The first language I learned was Spanish. My mom is Salvadorian. (dad wasn't around, but he is Mexican) She came to this country when she was 18 (after having my oldest brother. Pablo (23) She knew no English. One would think that my brother's first language would be Spanish as well, but seeing as he's deaf, he never learned Spanish, or English. My first language was Spanish, so when I got to prekindergarten I didn't know how to communicate with other kids. I was a quick learner, I never had to be put into ESL classes.
As the years progressed I became fluent in English, Spanish, and American Sign-language. By the 6th grade I was introduced to Naruto. Naruto is a Japanese anime show that I quickly became obsessed with. So much so, that I went online and started watching the shows in Japanese. The Japanese language interested me. I loved the way the words flowed together. The sounds, the pitches. I loved the language so much, that I started looking into Japanese culture, history, and mannerisms. I'm still obsessed.
When guitar hero III came out, I played the poop out of that game. I played every single song, and came across Radio Song- Superbus. I liked the sound of the band so much that I looked them up, and found out that they do French songs! Guess what language I'm also in love with now? Guess what place I think is beautiful?
Side-note: Earlier I thought my likings for different countries was because America doesn't really have culture, but that's not it.

Wednesday, July 8, 2009

Wisdom Teeth

Over a week ago I went to the dentist because one of my wisdom teeth was hurting pretty bad. They told me that on thee 7th I'd have to get them taken out.
Yesterday morning I woke up at 8 A.M. (couldn't go back to sleep) For an appointment that was at 10 A.M. I took a shower, brushed my teeth, and ATE NOTHING. It sucked not being able to eat especially since my mom was cooking freakin' sasuage and eggs. What the heck mom?
By the time we arrived in the dentist waiting room, all I could think about is food. I was so hungry, that I barley noticed that CNN was on (love CNN!) When the dental assistant came in, she asked me,
"how are you feeling?"
"hungry."
The room to take out my wisdom teeth was really comfortable. They had really weird 80's music on, and a brown blankey that felt baby-soft. While I waited for the head dentist to arrive I had myself extremely comfortable. I took my sandals off, and put thee awesome brown blankey over myself, and head-jammed to the music. I think they turned up the 80's music because I could hear what was going on in the other rooms, and it was freaking my mom out. Then the head dentist came in and said
"Let's get this show on the road!"
The dental assistant put a mask over my nose, (laughing gas) and it gave me the weirdest feeling... I felt like I wasn't there. It was time for my mom to leave the room, and before she left, she squeezed my hand. I could barely feel it. Then after she left, the background 80's music kept skipping. Actually, everyone in the room, all their words sounded like a broken cd. For some reason I found this to be really stinkin' hilarious. And the dental assistant said
"Feel the gas yet? You have a really funny look on your face."
The head dentist gave me something to squeeze and he put the I.V. in. I slowly felt like I was fading out of consciousness, and I was trying to fight it. But next thing I knew I was done, and there was gauze in my mouth.
I was drunk on laughing gas for 1 more hour. That was fun for my mom. She told me I said some really weird crap, and she had to help me walk in and out of the car, because apparently I'm really self-righteous when drunk on laughing gas.
My lip and chin were really numb, and it was thee most uncomfortable feeling I've ever felt. Slowly, at 9:00 the left side of my lip woke up! Then my right side woke up an hour ago!
It doesn't hurt yet, but just wait for that.

Saturday, July 4, 2009

Unrequited Love

I hope in later years I'll be able to look at this blog and laugh at my woes. I hope by then my scars have healed, my tears are dry, and I'd be happy.
I'm dealing with things beyond my maturity level. I've felt the bitchin' pain that is teenage heartbreak. I have to get my wisdom teeth taken out on the day Chavy told me he loved me. I have to endure the pain that is stomach surgery on the day that we became a couple.
Post break up Chavy told me it wasn't going to work out anyway. Why would you say that? Today Chavy told me he's going partying. Why would you tell me that? I mean, it's fantastic that this break-up hasn't effected you at all. I'm crumbling, and you're partying. How great.
We barely talk. Today was the first time we've spoken in two days. It upsets me that it's come to this. We used to be great friends, and now we don't even talk. Even as friends, I don't think we'd have the same bond as before. I don't think I'll be able to think of him as a friend. I love him.
I miss him. I miss him so badly. He doesn't even think of me at all. He doesn't miss me.